Taguig students top academic tourneys

Students from the two science high schools in Taguig City dominated the latest round of academic competitions in different locations and divisions in Metro Manila last month.
Topping the list is Cy M. Rodriguez, a 4th year student at the Senator Renato “Companero” Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School (SRCC-MSTHS), who bested 66 other students from Muntinlupa, Taguig and Pateros (MUNTAPAT) to be crowned champion in the 33rd National Quiz Bee Division Championships held last Feb. 23 at San Beda in Alabang.
Because of the win, Rodriguez will be representing the division in the National Quiz Bee Regional Championships.
To prove of Taguig City’s dominance in the competition, Michael Angelo Zafra of the Taguig Science High School (TSHS) came in 2nd place.
Mayor Lani Cayetano commended those who won in the competition, saying their victories highlighted the pursuit of academic excellence in all of the schools in Taguig City.
“Once more we are reminded that we made a very good investment when we prioritize education in Taguig City. I congratulate the students, as well as their schools, teachers and parents, for proving once again that Taguig is a center of academic excellence not only in Metro Manila but in the whole country as well,” Mayor Lani said.
“Rest assured that we will continue to pour in more funds in order to strengthen the education sector in our city.”
Also last February 23, SRCC-MSTHS’s Aljan Balbuena proceeded to qualify for the next round of the International Mathematics Assessment for School (IMAS).
Balbuena is a member of the team of SRCC-MSTHS that carted away with the championship in the 5th MTG- Sharp Math Trail and Problem Solving Competition last Jan. 26. The rest of team are Joshua Cuballes, Solon Roi Loro and Marella Iris Palces.
This is the second year SRCC-MSTHS won the top prize in the Math Trail Competition.
TSHS also has its share of championships when it dominated the Mathematics quiz bee by taking first place of the 7th Mathira Mathibay last Feb. 21.
A team from the SRCC-MSTHS cornered the 2nd place, followed by students from the Western Bicutan High School. A total of nine teams from the MUNTAPAT division participated in the event.
Last February 12, Anne Beatrice N. Maranon of SRCC-MSTHS became the first student from the Taguig-Pateros district to be named champion in the Panrehiyong Maunawaing Pagbasa sa Filipino. In bringing home the title, Maranon beat the representatives of 16 other divisions from the Department of Education- National Capital Region (DEPED-NCR).
Also, a team from TSHS composed of Michael Angelo Zafra and Mary Joy Razalan won the championship in the Reading Proficiency Contest held last January.
Also last January, students Emmanuel Joseph Magnaye, Kenneth Jay Alaba, Michael Angelo Zafra and Marriel Kayne Malate from Taguig Science High School won first place at the MTAP Division Level.
Ipinagmalaki ni Mayor Lani Cayetano ang paghakot ng parangal ng mga estudyanteng Taguigueno sa iba’t ibang torneyo na kanilang nilahukan.
Itinuturing ni Mayor Lani na malaking tagumpay ito ng kanyang administrasyon na nagpatupad ng reporma sa sektor ng edukasyon pagkaupo niya sa puwesto noong 2010.
“Ipinagmamalaki ko ang mga estudyante, mga guro at mga magulang. Ang kanilang tagumpay ang suma-salamin sa repormang ipinatupad ng aking administrasyon sa edukasyon,” masayang pahayag ni Mayor Lani.
Noong Pebrero 23, pinataob ni Cy M. Rodriguez, 4th year student ng Senator Renato “Companero” Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School (SRCC-MSTHS) ang 66 na katunggali mula sa mga paaralan sa Muntinlupa, Taguig, Pateros (MUNTAPAT) sa 33rd National Quiz Bee Division Championships.
Dahil sa panalo, ito ang isa sa mga magiging kinatawanng kanyang dibisyon para makipagtagisan ng talino at husay sa Quiz Bee Regional Championships.
Para bigyang diin kung paano dinomina ng Taguig ang division championships ay pumangalawa si Michael Angelo Zafra ng Taguig Science High School kay Rodriguez sa torneyo.
Noong Febreuary 23, umabante sa ikalawang round ng International Mathematics Assessment for School (IMAS) si Aljan Balbuena ng SRCC-MSTHS. Kabilang si Balbuena sa SRCC Team na nag-uwi sa kampeyonato ng 5th MTG- Sharp Math Trail and Problem Solving Competition noong January 26. Kasama niya sa koponang ito sina Joshua Cuballes, Solon Roi Loro at Marella Iris Palces. Ito ang ikalawang taon na napagwagian ng SRCC-MSTHS ang Math Trail Competition.
Noong February 21 ay dinomina ng Taguig ang Mathematics Quiz Bee nang magkampeon ang Taguig Science High School sa 7th Mathira Mathibay. Nakuha ng SRCC-MSTHS ang ikalawang puwesto at pangatlong puwesto naman ang Western Bicutan High School. Siyam na koponan mula sa dibisyon ng Muntinlupa, Taguig at Pateros ang lumahok sa naturang kompetisyon.
February 12 naman nang maging kauna-unahang mag-aaral mula sa Taguig-Pateros si Anne Beatrice N. Maranon ng SRCC-MSTHS na nag-kampeon sa Panrehiyong Maunawaing Pagbasa sa Filipino. Tinalo ni Maranon sa kompetisyon ang mga kinatawan mula sa 16 na dibisyon ng Department of Education- National Capital Region (DEPED-NCR).
Samantala, itinanghal namang Kampeon sa Reading Proficiency Contest ang koponan ng Taguig Science High School na binubuo nina Michael Angelo Zafra at Mary Joy Razalan.

Taguig City Hotlines

Taguig City Hall 555- 7800 Police Taguig Mobile Patrol 0921-7221972
Fire Department at City Hall 642-9982 Public Order & Safety Office 642-1261
Fire Department Taguig Central 837-0740 / 837-4496 Taguig Environmental / Solid Waste 642-7557
Fire Department at FTI 837-4496 Traffic Management Office 640-7006
Lake & River Patrol 628-1377 Taguig-Pateros District Hospital 838-34-85
Office of Social Welfare & Development 555-7919 Taguig City Rescue 0919-0703112
PNP Taguig / COP 642-35-82 Taguig Emergency Hotline 165-7777
Tactical Operation Center Police 642-3582 Taguig Command Center 789- 3200
Police 117 / Emergency 1623 Doctors-On- Call 0917- 8210896
Trunkline 555-78-52/555-7854